

For Immediate Release: December 15, 2024

1

PRESS RELEASE

Padma Bhushan, Shri Vijay Kumar Saraswat, Member NITI Aayog to address degree recipients during the 44th convocation of IIT (ISM) Dhanbad on December 17, 2024; Raunak Ashnani of B Tech Computer Science Engineering to receive President's Gold Medal.

The 44th convocation of Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad will be celebrated on December 16-17 (Monday-Tuesday) in the Penman Auditorium of the institute. Padma Bhushan, Shri Vijay Kumar Saraswat, Member NITI Aayog will be the chief guest of the function and will deliver the convocation address to degree, medal and award recipients.

Prof Prem Vrat, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad will preside over the function while Prof Sukumar Mishra, Director, IIT (ISM) will present the report of activities of the institute.

The convocation proceeding will commence exactly as per the scheduled time. The academic procession fully dressed in convocation attire will enter the hall for convocation ceremonies. This year degrees will be conferred on 1908 scholars and students of 2023-24 batch.

Details are as follows

Program	Total
Bachelor of Technology	903
Bachelor of Technology (Double Major)	16
Dual Degree (B Tech + M Tech)	5
Master of Business Administration	70
Master of Science	140
Master of Science and Technology	102
Master of Technology	308
Integrated Master of Technology	78
Grand Total	1622
Ph.D	256
PG Diploma	30
Medals details	
Gold Medal	36
Silver Medal	16
Sponsored Medals	19

This year Raunak Ashnani, a B Tech Computer Science Engineering Student will be awarded president's medal for 2022-23 batch. President's award is awarded to a student admitted through JEE Advanced who has scored highest CGPA/OGPA.

The complete list of recipients of degrees (Disciplines/Departments wise) is given in convocation brochure. The other contents of the brochure include Director's Report, Address by the Chief Guest and address by the chairman, BoG.

Rajni Singh Dean (Corporate Communications)

President's Gold Medal